and colloquia

special events

and the deep sea
conference '02

toward a new
conference '99




conference :: program :: photos :: attendees :: contact

71 Official Attendees
(updated 2/1/99)


Jonathan Adams, University of Southampton

Robert D. Ballard, Institute For Exploration, co-sponsor

George Bass, Texas A&M University / Institute of Nautical Archaeology

James Bellingham, MIT Sea Grant / DSSC

Andrew Bowen, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI)

John Broadwater, NOAA / Monitor Sanctuary

Carl Olof Cederlund, South Stockholm University College

James P. Delgado, Vancouver Maritime Museum

Owen P. Doonan, University of Illinois, Chicago

Brendan Foley, MIT

Alex Gantos, Boston University

Glen Gawarkiewicz, WHOI

James Goold, Covington & Burling

Fredrik T. Hiebert, University of Pennsylvania / Institute For Exploration

Victor T. Mastone, Commonwealth of Massachusetts Board of

Underwater Archaeological Resources

Anna Marguerite McCann, Boston University

David A. Mindell, MIT / Institute For Exploration, Conference Organizer

James Newman, Institute For Exploration

Walter Pitman, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, Columbia University

Chas Richard, US Navy, Officer-In-Charge, Submarine NR-1

Hanumant Singh, WHOI / Institute For Exploration

David Smart, Harvard University Semitic Museum

Lawrence Stager, Harvard University

Greg Stemm, Odyssey Marine Exploration

Ismail Tatlican, Archaeological Museum, Sinop, Turkey

Francesco Torre, Archaeological Museum, Trapani

Al Uchupi, WHOI

Thomas Vaneck, Physical Sciences Inc.

Shelley Wachsmann, Texas A&M / Institute of Nautical Archaeology

Cheryl Ward, Texas A&M University at Galveston / Institute of Nautical Archaeology

Patty Jo Watson, Washington University, St. Louis

Gordon Watts, East Carolina University

Louis Whitcomb, Johns Hopkins University / Institute For Exploration

Marty Wilcox, Marine Sonic Technology, Ltd.

James Wiseman, Boston University


Catherine Beckerleg, Harvard University

Susan Cohen, Harvard University

Roger Cortesi, MIT

Katy Croff, MIT

Fionn Damdar, MIT

Dianne Egnor, MIT

Ian Ingram, MIT

Daniel Master, Harvard University

Michael Press, Harvard University

Aslihan Sanal, MIT

Sarah Webster, MIT


Karl Andren, New York Cruise Lines

Ivar Babb, National Undersea Research Center, University of Connecticut

Robert C. Blumberg, US Dept of State

Claire Calcagno, Boston University

Marge Chryssostomidis, MIT

Peter Davidson, J.M. Kaplan Fund

Robert Grenier, Parks Canada

Kurt Hasselbalch, MIT Museum, Hart Nautical Collection

Harry Kahn, University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology,

Archaeological Institute of America

Martin Klein, Martin Klein Consultants

Daniel Lenihan, National Park Service

John Leonard, MIT Department of Ocean Engineering

Justin Manley, MIT Sea Grant

Alfred McLaren, Pres., Explorersí Club

Joris Naiman, US Dept of Interior

Peter Neill, South Street Seaport / International Congress of Maritime Museums

Catherine Offinger, Institute For Exploration

Dennis Piechota, Archaeological Conservators

Warren Riess, University of Maine

Judy Spitzer, MIT

Peter Waddell, Parks Canada

Meg Watters, IMA Consulting

Scott Willcox, MIT Sea Grant

Tom Wilcox, Marine Sonic Technology, Ltd.

Sandra Witten, Institute For Exploration




Deep Water Archaeology Research Group
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Ave. Rm e51-194
Cambridge, MA 02139



links research events expeditions home education publications in the press events