Faculty and their Areas of Research


There are more than 50 participating faculty in the MIT Microbiology graduate program, from several different science and engineering departments and divisions. As well as the alphabetical list below, you can view the faculty by Department affiliation and by Subject Area.

Becoming a Member

The Microbiology graduate program welcomes all faculty who self-identify as working with microbes and microbial processes. For more information, please contact the Program Coordinator, Bonnie Lee Whang at microbiology [at] mit.edu

Faculty by Alphabetical Listing

Each faculty's name is linked to his or her lab or research summary, for further information.

Alm, Eric

Amon, Angelika

Baker, Tania
Bartel, David
Belcher, Angela

Bell, Steve
Blainey, Paul

Bosak, Tanja
Bourouiba, Lydia
Buie, Cullen

Chen, Jianzhu

Chisholm, Penny
Collins, James
Dedon, Peter

Drennan, Cathy
Engelward, Bevin

Essigmann, John
Fink, Gerald
Fournier, Gregory
Fox, James

Fraenkel, Ernest

Gehrke, Lee

Gilbert, Wendy
Gore, Jeff

Grossman, Alan

Imperiali, Barbara
Kaiser, Chris

Kim, Dennis


Laub, Michael
Li, Gene-Wei

Lindquist, Susan
Lippard, Stephen
Lu, Timothy

Manalis, Scott

Mirny, Leonid
Niles, Jacquin
Nolan, Elizabeth

Ploegh, Hidde

Polz, Martin

Prather, Kristala L. Jones

RajBhandary, Uttam

Regev, Aviv


Ribbeck, Katharina
Runstadler, Jonathan

Samson, Leona
Sarpeshkar, Rahul
Sauer, Robert
Sikes, Hadley
Sinskey, Anthony

Stephanopolous, Gregory

Stubbe, JoAnne

Summons, Roger

Tidor, Bruce

Ting, Alice
Voigt, Christopher

Walker, Graham

Weiss, Ron

Other Views:

By Department
By Subject Area