MIT PDA Travel Award Winners in 2012

Fall 2012: four winners

Stephan Rudykh,  Mechanical Engineering,

“Flexible multilayered composites: Experiments, Numerical and Analytical Micromechanical Models”, American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 2012 Mechanical Engineering Congress, November 9 – 15. Houston, TX.


Gabriel Juarez, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering,

“Bacterial Motility at oil-water interfaces”, the 65th Annual Meeting of the American Physical Society's Division of Fluid Dynamics, November 18-20, 2012.


Daosheng Deng, Department of Chemical Engineering,

Overlimiting current and water purification in porous materials,” American Physical Society—Division of Fluid Dynamics meeting, November 18-20, 2012.


Nozomi Ando, Department of Chemistry.


Summer 2012: five winners

Alexandra Naba, Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, Hynes Lab,

 “Extracellular Matrix Signatures of Breast Cancer Progression and Metastasis.” Joint meeting of the American Society for Matrix Biology and the Society for Glycobiology - San Diego, CA - November 11 - 14, 2012.

Shan Jiang, Chemical Engineering,

“Iron oxide, lipidoid nanoparticles for DNA and siRNA delivery,” Gordon Conference: Drug Carriers in Medicine & Biology, 08/12/2012 - 08/17/2012


Doerthe Eisele, Department of Chemistry.

Mona Zebarjadi, Department Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering,
“Fabrication of low cost thermoelectric materials with improved properties using modulation-doping strategy,” ASME, summer 2012.

Kyle Stephen Smith, McGovern Institute for Brain Research / Brain and Cognitive Sciences,
Optogenetic inhibition of infralimbic cortex both blocks and reinstates habits", Optogenetics and Pharmacogenetics in Neuronal Function and Dysfunction, October 11-12, 2012 (New Orleans, LA).