MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences soundings
Spring 2004 [ Previous issues ]

Honors & awards

Professor of Economics Daron Acemoglu delivered the Marshall Lecture at the European Economics Association meetings in Stockholm in August 2003.

Stephen Alter, Writer in Residence in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies, was awarded an American Institute of Indian Studies fellowship.

Olivier Blanchard, Class of 1941 Professor of Economics, was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Université du Quebec, Montreal.

Ford International Professor of Economics Ricardo Caballero delivered the Bill Phillips Lecture at the Australasian Meeting of the Econometric Society in Sydney.

Institute Professor Emeritus of Linguistics Noam Chomsky was elected a Foreign Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

Nazli Choucri, Professor of Political Science, has been elected to the European Academy of Sciences.

Class of 1948 Career Development Associate Professor of Theater Arts Thomas DeFrantz was awarded the 2003 Errol Hill Award by the American Society of Theatre Research for his edited anthology Dancing Many Drums: Excavations in African American Dance.

Peter Diamond, Institute Professor of Economics, received this year's Paul A. Samuelson Award from TIAA/CREF for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial Security. This award was given for his Munich Lectures entitled "Taxation, Incomplete Markets and Social Security."

Deborah Fitzgerald, Professor of the History of Technology, was awarded the Theodore Saloutos Book Award from the Agricultural History Society for her book Every Farm a Factory: The Industrial Ideal in American Agriculture.

Institute Professor of Music John Harbison's sacred motet "Abraham" premiered on January 17, 2004 at a Papal Concert of Reconciliation at the Vatican attended by Pope John Paul II. The concert featured the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and singers from the London Philharmonic Choir, the Krakow Philharmonic, and the Ankara Polyphonic Choir.

John and Jennie S. MacDonald Professor of Economics Jerry Hausman delivered the Shann Memorial Lecture at the University of Western Australia in Perth.

Stefan Helmreich, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, was the recipient of a Wenner-Gren grant.

Professor and Head of Anthropology Jean Jackson and Associate Professor of History Anne McCants were appointed Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellows.

Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics and Management Paul L. Joskow was selected by the International Association for Energy Economics (IAEE) to receive the 2004 Outstanding Contributions to the Profession Award.

Professor of Linguistics Emeritus Samuel Jay Keyser's The Pond God and Other Stories won the Lee Bennett Hopkins Honor Award for outstanding children's poetry from the Pennsylvania State College Book Center.

Mitsui Professor of Economics James Poterba was named the Distinguished CES Fellow of 2003 by the Scientific Advisory Council of the Center for Economic Studies.

Richard Samuels, Ford International Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for International Studies, was awarded the 2004 Marraro Prize from the Society of Italian Historical Studies for his book Machiavelli's Children.

Merritt Roe Smith, Cutten Professor of the History of Technology in the Program in Science, Technology, and Society, was honored by the Charles River Museum of Industry with its 2003 Founder's Day Award for Distinguished Scholarship and Service to the Profession.

Judith Thomson, Professor of Philosophy Emerita, will give the David Norton Memorial Lecture at the University of Delaware and the Shearman Lectures at University College, London.

Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Music and Head of Music and Theater Arts Evan Ziporyn is a 2004 recipient of the American Academy of Arts and Letters Goddard Lieberson Fellowship.

Faculty Promotions
(effective July 1, 2004)

Adam Berinsky
Associate Professor: Political Science

Kanchan Chandra
Associate Professor: Political Science

Esther Duflo
Professor: Economics

Sally Haslanger
Professor: Philosophy

Stefan Helmreich
Associate Professor: Anthropology

Meg Jacobs
Associate Professor: History

David Kaiser
Associate Professor: Science, Technology, and Society

Sendhil Mullainathan
Professor: Economics



Message from Dean Khoury


Conversation with
Professor Esther Duflo:
Saving the world, precisely

New international
minor at MIT


Honors & awards

Book & CD notes


All issues
This issue only