Honors & awards

Visiting Professor of Science Writing Marcia Bartusiak has received the 2006 Andrew Gemant Award from the American Institute of Physics, which recognizes the significant contributions to cultural, artistic, or humanistic dimensions of physics.

Institute Professor and Professor of Linguistics, Emeritus Noam Chomsky received honorary degrees from Universidad de Chile, Santiago and the Universidad de la Frontera, Temuco, Chile in 2006.

Ian Condry, Assistant Professor of Japanese Cultural Studies, has been selected for a National Science Foundation grant in cultural anthropology for his project “Global Anime: The Making of Japan’s Transnational Popular Culture.”

Suzanne Flynn, Professor of Second Language Acquisition, received the Beom Jeong Award from the Graduate School at Dankook University in Seoul, Korea, for her research contributions to linguistics, language learning, and Korea.

Class of 1947 Career Development Associate Professor of History Meg Jacobs’s Pocketbook Politics: Economic Citizenship in Twentieth-Century America has been chosen for a New England Historical Association 2005 Book Award.

Peter de Florez Professor of Humanities and Director of Comparative Media Studies Henry Jenkins’s book, Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide, was awarded the 2007 Katherine Singer Kovacs Book Award.

Associate Professor of the History of Science David Kaiser has been awarded the Forum for History of Science in America Book Prize for his book Drawing Theories Apart: The Dispersion of Feynman Diagrams in Postwar Physics.

Pauline Maier, William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of History, has been selected for a Fellowship for 20072008 from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Assistant Professor of Music Keeril Makan was awarded the 2006–2007 American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers (ASCAP) Award.

MacVicar Faculty Fellow and Professor of Literature David Thorburn has been awarded a Senior Fulbright Fellowship to visit the University of Utrecht in the Netherlands.

Evan Ziporyn, Kenan Sahin Distinguished Professor of Music, has been awarded the 2006 Gyorgy Kepes Fellowship Prize by the Council for the Arts at MIT.

Faculty promotions
(effective July 1, 2007)

Daniel Fox
Professor: Linguistics

Kai von Fintel
Professor: Linguistics

Sarah Song
Associate Professor: Political Science

Thomas DeFrantz
Professor: Music and Theater Arts

Jay Scheib
Associate Professor: Music and Theater Arts

David Jones
Associate Professor: Program in Science, Technology, and Society