choir picture

Fall Choral Concert: Saturday, December 1, 2001

Entire concert as zip

A benefit concert featuring some of Boston’s finest vocalists singing the arias and recitatives. A portion of the admission price, plus additional donations collected at the door, went to the Unity Fund of the United Way of Massachusetts Bay.

George Frideric Händel: Messiah, Parts One and Two
  1. Overture (mp3)
  2. Comfort ye (mp3)
  3. Ev’ry valley (mp3)
  4. And the glory of the Lord (mp3)
  5. Thus saith the Lord (mp3)
  6. But who may abide (mp3)
  7. And He shall purify (mp3)
  8. Behold, a virgin shall conceive (mp3)
  9. O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (mp3)
  10. For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (mp3)
  11. The people that walked in darkness (mp3)
  12. For unto us a Child is born (mp3)
  13. Pifa (Sinfonia pastorale) (mp3)
  14. There were shepherds abiding in the field (mp3)
  15. And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them (mp3)
  16. And the angel said unto them (mp3)
  17. And suddenly there was with the angel (mp3)
  18. Glory to God (mp3)
  19. Rejoice greatly (mp3)
  20. Then shall the eyes of the blind be opened (mp3)
  21. He shall feed His flock (mp3)
  22. His yoke is easy (mp3)
  23. Behold the Lamb of God (mp3)
  24. He was despised (mp3)
  25. Surely He hath borne our griefs (mp3)
  26. And with His stripes (mp3)
  27. All we, like sheep (mp3)
  28. All they that see him laugh Him to scorn (mp3)
  29. He trusted in God (mp3)
  30. Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (mp3)
  31. Behold, and see (mp3)
  32. He was cut off (mp3)
  33. But Thou didst not leave (mp3)
  34. Lift up your heads, O ye gates (mp3)
  35. Unto which of the angels (mp3)
  36. Let all the angels of God worship Him (mp3)
  37. Thou art gone up on high (mp3)
  38. The Lord gave the word (mp3)
  39. How beautiful are the feet (mp3)
  40. Their sound is gone out (mp3)
  41. Why do the nations (mp3)
  42. Let us break their bonds asunder (mp3)
  43. He that dwelleth in heaven (mp3)
  44. Thou shalt break them (mp3)
  45. Hallelujah! (mp3)
  • Kendra Colton, soprano
  • Lynn Torgove, mezzo-soprano
  • Rockland Osgood, tenor
  • Thomas Jones, bass

Fall MITSO Concert: Saturday, December 8, 2001

An open rehearsal was held on Thursday, December 6, 2001.

  • MIT Symphony Orchestra
  • MIT Concert Choir
Johannes Brahms: Schicksalslied (mp3)

The Orchestra’s program included other works by Johannes Brahms and Peter Child.

Review from the Tech

Back to the Repertoire page