choir picture

Spring Choir Concert: Friday, May 4, 2001

Entire concert as zip

  • MIT Concert Choir
  • William Cutter, conductor
John Harbison: Der Abend (world premiere) (mp3)
  • Semi-chorus:
    • Gloria Choi, Susan A. Juan, Kosanna Poon, Tina Shih, Sonya Tang, sopranos
    • Brian Anderson, Carolyn Johns, Karen Livescu, Monica Taylor, altos
    • Ahmed E. Ismail, Will Merrick, Matthew Munsey, Ian Parrish, tenors
    • Alan deLespinasse, Edward Flagg, Charles Gonzalez, Michael Walsh, basses
Ralph Vaughan Williams: Five Mystical Songs
  1. Easter (baritone and chorus) (mp3)
  2. I got me flowers (baritone and chorus) (mp3)
  3. Love bade me welcome (baritone and chorus) (mp3)
  4. The Call (baritone) (mp3)
  5. Antiphon (chorus) (mp3)
  • Brian Church, baritone
  • James Busby, organ
John Harbison: Der Abend (reprise) (mp3)
Maurice Duruflé: Requiem, Op. 9
  1. Introit (mp3)
  2. Kyrie
  3. Domine Jesu Christe (mp3)
  4. Sanctus (mp3)
  5. Pie Jesu (mp3)
  6. Agnus Dei (mp3)
  7. Lux aeterna (mp3)
  8. Libera me (mp3)
  9. In Paradisum (mp3)
  • Adam Smith, baritone
  • Tara Shankar, mezzo-soprano
  • James Busby, organ
Ludwig van Beethoven: Elegischer Gesang, Op. 118 (mp3)

Intercollegiate Choral Concert: Saturday, April 21, 2001; Sunday, April 22, 2001

The choir performed Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 2 in C minor (“Auferstehung”/“Resurrection”) with a combined choir from MIT, Tufts, and Brandeis and a combined orchestra from Wellesley, Tufts, and Brandeis. The orchestras involved were the Tufts Symphony Orchestra, Brandeis Symphony Orchestra, and Wellesley College Orchestra. The MIT Concert Choir sang along with the Tufts University Chorale and Brandeis University Chorus.

Saturday’s concert took place at Houghton Chapel, Wellesley College. Sunday’s concert took place at Cousens Gymnasium, Tufts University.

  • MIT Concert Choir in collaboration with choirs and orchestras from Wellesley, Tufts, and Brandeis
  • Neal Hampton, conductor (Saturday)
  • Malka Sverdlov Yaacobi, conductor (Sunday)
Gustav Mahler: Symphony No. 2

Back to the Repertoire page