Soundings - home
Fall 2002

Fall 2002

The hopeful democrat

In a conversation with soundings contributing editor Orna Feldman, Professor Joshua Cohen discusses freedom of expression, campaign finance reform, and the trouble with political philosophy today.

Stepping up!

Recipients of the Spring 2002 SHASS Infinite Mile Awards were announced in May.

Science Writing Program opens its doors

MIT's new graduate program in science writing hopes to influence both the discipline of science writing and the public understanding of science and technology.

Planting seeds

The Burchard Scholars Program makes room in the MIT universe for questions without answers.


New faculty

Book notes

Bullets & bytes

Honors & awards



All issues
This issue only


Soundings is published by the Dean's Office of the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at MIT

Comments and questions to




Stepping up!

The winners of the Spring 2002 SHASS Infinite Mile Awards were announced in May. The Infinite Mile Awards are part of MIT's Rewards and Recognition Program (R&R) and are designed to support the goals and values of the School.

The R&R Program was instituted in academic year 2001 to recognize and reward members of MIT's administrative staff, support staff, service staff, sponsored research staff, and faculty (when part of a team being recognized and rewarded).

The SHASS Infinite Mile Awards were drawn from four categories: the "Unsung Hero Award," the "Dean's Community Builder Award," the "Go-to Person Award," and a new award this year, the "Positive Energy Award."

Recipients of the awards have made exceptional contributions to the organizations within the School, as well as exceptional contributions benefiting the entire School and the Institute. The program encourages broad-based recognition for exemplary MIT employees. Award recipients are expected to represent the best of SHASS employees, and should consistently exhibit outstanding work performance.

The awards were based on an open nomination process. All members of the MIT community (internal and external) were invited to nominate those deserving of reward and recognition.

Dean's Community Builder Award
Tobie Weiner Tobie Weiner, Undergraduate Administrator,
Political Science
Go-to Person Award
Maya Jhangiani, Administrative Assistant, Writing & Humanistic Studies Maya Jhangiani
Language Learning and Research Center (LLARC) Team, Foreign Languages & Literatures Language Learning and Research Center (LLARC) Team,
Foreign Languages & Literatures

Jeffrey Martin,
Systems Programmer
Cliff Myers,
Technical Assistant
Ruth Trometer,
Positive Energy Award
Robert J. Bain Robert J. Bain, Administrative Assistant, Comparative Media Studies
Maria DiMauro, Administrative Officer, History Maria DiMauro
Shannon Larkin Shannon Larkin, Administrative Assistant, Writing & Humanistic Studies
Unsung Hero Award
Linda Malouf Linda Malouf, Administrative Assistant, SHASS Dean's Office
Rinaldi Team,
Music & Theater Arts

Diane Brainerd,
Assistant Costumer
William Fregosi,
Technical Coordinator
Leslie Cocuzzo Held,
Technical Instructor
Michael Katz,
Technical Instructor
Karen Perlow,
Technical Assistant
Rinaldi Team
Linda Marcotte Honorable Mention: Linda Marcotte,
Service Assistant, SHASS Dean's Office

Other academic awards:

Outstanding contributions to teaching and service to SHASS

Jane Dunphy,
Director of English Language Studies Program,
Foreign Languages & Literatures

Margarita Groeger,
Director of Spanish Language Studies,
Foreign Languages & Literatures

Yoshimi Nagaya,
Director of Japanese Language Studies,
Foreign Languages & Literatures

William Cutter,
Director of Choral Programs,
Music & Theater Arts

Frederick Harris,
Director of Wind Ensembles,
Music & Theater Arts



Copyright © 2002 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Soundings - home
Fall 2002