Brass Rat History

In the spring of 1929, class president C. Brigham Allen appointed representatives from the classes of 1930, 1931, and 1932 to the first MIT Ring Committee. Charged with designing the first Standard Technology Ring, the committee appointed the Institute mascot, the beaver, to be the centerpiece.

Below this paragraph, you will find thumbnails to the rings of the past five years, linked to their respective sites.
2008 2007 2006 2005 2004

Each class has designed a unique ring, representative of their experiences at MIT. Each ring is adorned with a beaver on its bezel, as well as "MIT" and the class year on opposing shanks. As the seventy-eighth ring committee, we are proud to present the 2009 Brass Rat.

Your 2009 Ring Committee

Amy Gilpin
Course 1
Alpha Chi Omega, MacGregor
Omaha, NE
Eugene Jang
Art Liaison
Course 3, 2/BME minors
Sigma Chi
Chaitra Manjunatha
Course 10
East Campus
Duluth, GA
Becky Millson
Publicity Chair
Course 11
Sigma Kappa
Goffstown, NH
Colleen Mosley
Vice Chair
Course 9
Burton Third
Midland, MI
Arjun Naskar
Course 20
Phi Beta Epsilon
Los Altos Hills, CA
Siamrut Patanavanich
Course 3
Phi Sigma Kappa, New House 4
Vienna, VA
Alexander Papageorge
Course 10
Phi Kappa Theta
Weston, MA
Allysa Piché
Course 15
New House 2
Atlanta, GA & New Bedford, MA
Jeremy Smith
Course 6
Zeta Psi, Burton Conner
Hull, MA
Christopher Whitfield
Course 3
Chi Phi
Kalamazoo, MI
Christine Yen
Course 6, CMS
Kappa Alpha Theta, Baker
Saratoga, CA