NNPSS logo



The 2022 National Nuclear Physics Summer School (NNPSS) will be held from Monday July 11 through Friday July 22, 2022, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). The summer school is open to graduate students and postdocs within a few years of their PhD (on either side) with a strong interest in experimental and theoretical nuclear physics. For more information on the NNPSS, including lecture material from previous schools, please visit the INT NNPSS website.

The lecturers of the summer school will give pedagogical reviews of topics in theoretical and experimental nuclear physics, including hadronic spectroscopy and structure, QCD, heavy-ion physics, nuclear structure, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental symmetries, and neutrinos. The school will consist of ten days of lectures, special topics seminars and discussions, and several social activities. On the weekend in the middle of the school, students will be free to explore the many activities available in the Boston area. It is an excellent opportunity for junior researchers to get a broad perspective on current and future research in nuclear physics, and to network with other researchers.

The school can accommodate 50 applicants. Review of applications in May and accepted students will be notified shortly thereafter. For accepted applicants, the school will cover most of the local expenses in shared dormitory accommodation. Participants will be responsible for travel costs and extracurricular expenses. In addition, a small number of travel support scholarships will be made available to those with demonstrated financial need.

Lecture Topics

  • AI for Data Analysis
  • AI for Detector Design
  • Fundamental Symmetries
  • Hadronic Physics, Detectors and Accelerators
  • Hot QCD Matter
  • Lattice QCD
  • Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay
  • Neutrino Oscillations
  • NN Interaction and Many-Body Methods
  • Nuclear Astrophysics
  • Nuclear Structure
  • Quantum Sensing and Dark Matter Searches
  • Quantum Simulations


Organizing Committee

William Detmold    Or Hen     Elsye Luc    Lindley Winslow


Supported by:
National Science Foundation Logo Institute for Nuclear Theory Logo Massachusetts Institute of Technology Logo Laboratory for Nuclear Science Logo