MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences soundings
Fall 2004 [ Previous issues ]

Honors and awards

Daron Acemoglu, Charles P. Kindleberger Professor of Applied Economics, was named the inaugural recipient of the Sherwin Rosen Prize for Outstanding Contributions in the Field of Labor Economics.

Stephen Alter, Writer-in-Residence in the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies, has been awarded a Fulbright Research Grant.

Abhijit Banerjee, Ford International Professor of Economics, was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Assistant Professor of History Christopher Capozzola has been selected as one of 15 Carnegie Scholars by the Carnegie Corporation and as a 2004–05 Visiting Scholar at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Professor Capozzola was awarded the Biennial Article Prize given by the Society for Historians of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era, for the best article on the period 1877–1918 in 2002 or 2003 by a junior scholar.

Noam Chomsky, Institute Professor Emeritus and Professor of Linguistics, was recently elected a member of the American Philosophical Society.

Ford International Professor of History John W. Dower received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Knox College in June 2004.

Ford International Professor of History John W. Dower and Kochi Prefecture-John Manjiro Professor of Language and Culture, Professor of Linguistics and Japanese Shigeru Miyagawa received a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities for their "Visualizing Cultures" project. Professors Dower and Miyagawa are also recipients of the Class of 1960 Innovation in Education Award.

Mary Fuller, Associate Professor of Literature, was awarded a Kenneth E. and Dorothy V. Hill Fellowship from the Huntington Library, San Marino, California.

Leo Marx Career Development Associate Professor of the History of Science David Kaiser was awarded a research grant from the Spencer Foundation.

Professor of Political Science Stephen Meyer was honored with the Arthur C. Smith Award for meaningful contributions and devotion to undergraduate student life and learning at MIT.

Brian Robison, Assistant Professor of Music, was awarded a grant from the Paul Sacher Foundation in Basel, Switzerland.

Nancy Rose, Professor of Economics, was awarded a 2004 Guggenheim fellowship.

Ford International Professor of Political Science and Director of the Center for International Studies Richard J. Samuels's book Machiavelli's Children: Leaders & Their Legacies in Italy & Japan is the winner of the 2004 Jervis-Schroeder Prize by the International History and Politics Section of the American Political Science Association.

Assistant Professor of Theater Arts Jay Scheib was presented with a Presidential Certificate from Harvard University for his production of Alfred de Musset's play Lorenzaccio at the Loeb Drama Center. He was also awarded a travel fellowship from the International Theatre Institute and the Theatre Communications Group to develop a performance with Pont Muhely Theatre in Budapest.

Charity Scribner, Assistant Professor of European Cultural Studies, was awarded a Humboldt Fellowship for research in Germany.

Professor of Sociology and Anthropology Susan Silbey was awarded the 2004 prize for Best Article in the Sociology of Culture, as well as the 2004 prize for the Best Article in Political Sociology by the American Sociological Association for, "Narrating Social Structure: Stories of Resistance to Legal Authority," American Journal of Sociology, May 2003. Professor Silbey was also awarded a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies (2004–2005) for research on "Governing Green Laboratories: Trust and Surveillance in the Cultures of Science."

Leverett Howell and William King Cutten Professor of the History of Technology Merritt Roe Smith has been named Honorary Guest Professor at the Kanazawa Institute of Technology.



Message from Dean Khoury


Ten things you probably
didn't know about SHASS . . .
but will be glad you learned!

A language is reborn


Book & CD notes

Bullets & bytes

Faculty promotions to tenure

Honors & awards

New faculty chairs

New faculty

SHASS Rewards & Recognition
Program winners


All issues
This issue only