MIT School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences soundings
Fall 2004 [ Previous issues ]

Honors and awards

Raphael Dorman and Helen Starbuck Professor of Political Science Suzanne Berger was named the Class of 1960 Fellow for her contributions to innovative education.

Associate Professor of Political Science Adam Berinsky received the Midwest Political Science Association Emerging Scholar Award for 2006.

Assistant Professor of Writing and New Media Beth Coleman received the 2006-07 American Association of University Women Emerging Scholar Award.

Institute Professor Emeritus and Professor of Linguistics Noam Chomsky received honorary degrees from the University of Cyprus and the Santo Domingo Institute of Technology in 2006.

Ian Condry, Associate Professor of Foreign Languages and Literatures, was awarded a fellowship from the Japan Society as well as a research fellowship for 2006-2007 from Harvard University's Program on US-Japan Relations.

Professor of Literature Peter Donaldson was named the inaugural Lloyd Davis Visiting Professor in Shakespearean Studies at University of Queensland, Australia.

Amy Finkelstein, Assistant Professor of Economics, received the CESifo Distinguished Research Affiliate Award. CESifo is an economic research group consisting of the Center for Economic Studies (CES) and the Ifo Institute for Economic Research.

Rudi Dornbusch Career Development Associate Professor of Economics Xavier Gabaix received the Young Scientist Award for Socio and Econophysics from the German Physical Society's Section for Physics of Socio-Economic Systems.

Professor of Economics Jonathan Gruber received the American Society of Health Economists Inaugural Medal for the best health economist in the nation aged 40 and under.

Jeffrey Harris, Professor of Economics, was the winner of the 2006 Undergraduate Economic Association Teaching Award.

Paul A. Samuelson Professor of Economics Bengt Holmstr›m was elected a Foreign Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences.

Class of 1947 Career Development Associate Professor of History Meg Jacobs was awarded the 2006 Ellis W. Hawley Prize by the Organization of American Historians for her book Pocketbook Politics: Economic Citizenship in Twentieth-Century America. She also received the d'Arbeloff Award for Excellence in Education.

Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics Paul Joskow was awarded MIT's 2006 Gordon Y. Billard Award.

David Kaiser, Associate Professor of the History of Science, was awarded MIT's 2006 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award.

Susan Silbey, Professor of Sociology and Anthropology and Head of the Anthropology Program, was awarded a Doctor Honoris Causa at the Ecole Normale Superieure, Cachan.

Leverett Howell and William King Cutten Professor of the History of Technology Merrit Roe Smith, received MIT's Arthur Smith Award for outstanding contributions to students and student life.

Associate Professor of Music Patricia Tang received an American Association of University Women Postdoctoral Fellowship for 2006-2007.

Lily Tsai, Assistant Professor of Political Science, was appointed a Graduate Fellow of the American Academy of Political Science. She also received the Best Field Work Award from the Comparative Democratization Section of the American Political Science Association at the 2005 annual meeting of the Association.



Message from Dean Fitzgerald


How economies —
and economists — work:
A conversation with
Daron Acemoglu


Book & CD notes

Bullets & bytes

Faculty promotions

Honors & awards

New faculty chairs

New faculty

SHASS Rewards & Recognition
Program winners


All issues
This issue only