MIT Faculty Newsletter  
Vol. XXXI No. 4
March / April 2019
The Proposed New Review Process
for Outside Funders and MIT's
Governance Problem
A 21st Century Education at MIT
March 4, 1969 Scientists Strike for Peace:
50 Years Later
An Open Letter to the MIT Corporation
FNL Elects Four New and One
Returning Editorial Board Members
Open Access Task Force
Draft Recommendations
The Octopus
Progress Towards an Improved
Undergraduate First-Year Experience
Update on the Academic Climate Survey
Undergraduate Admissions:
A Recommendation
Public Forums at the
Center for International Studies
International Collaborations and
Donations to the Endowment
Faculty Responses to the
2019 Academic Climate Survey
Printable Version

FNL Elects Four New and One
Returning Editorial Board Members


The MIT Faculty Newsletter is maintained by a volunteer Editorial Board, who are elected through an Institute-wide, all-faculty election. In the recent election four new and one returning member of the Faculty Newsletter Editorial Board were voted onto the Editorial Board. The Newsletter Editorial Board is the only committee of the faculty that is not a joint faculty/administration committee. This often permits wider-ranging discussion of issues affecting MIT faculty, students, and staff, as well as relevant national and international issues.

The new FNL Editorial Board members include: Profs. Sally Haslanger (Linguistics and Philosophy); Ceasar McDowell (Urban Studies and Planning); Robert Redwine (Physics); and Warren Seering (Mechanical Engineering). Re-elected was Prof. Seth Lloyd (Mechanical Engineering).

The election received over 1200 total responses, and more than 25% of the MIT Faculty voted.

This is particularly impressive considering the 3% quorum necessary for voting at monthly Institute Faculty Meetings (a percentage which is, sadly, not always achieved). Winning candidates garnered between 73% and 47% of the vote, with percentage votes divided virtually evenly between faculty and emeritus faculty.

Many thanks to MIT’s Office of Institutional Research (part of the Office of the Provost) and in particular to Senior Project Manager Gregory Harris. The user-friendly electronic election would not have been possible without his assistance and skills.

Back to top
Send your comments