Soundings - home
Fall 2000

Walking, talking, oxymoron

50 years: SHASS timeline

Seven notables contemplate the state of humanities, arts, and social sciences at MIT and beyond.

Donald Blackmer

David Epstein

Morris Halle

Bruce Mazlish

Travis Rhodes Merritt

Paul A. Samuelson

Judith Jarvis Thomson



Dean's letter

Honors & awards

Bullets & bytes



All issues
This issue only





Soundings is a publication of the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences at MIT

Comments and questions to


Bullets & bytes

James Buzard
Donna Coveney

James Buzard honored with Levitan Prize

Professor James Buzard of the Literature Faculty was awarded the 2000 Levitan Prize in the Humanities. Professor Buzard's research interests include the study of the autoethnographic impulse in 19th- and early 20th-century British and American literature. He studies the relation between "culture" as a possession or acquisition conferring status and "culture" as participation in a community or whole way of life. His winning proposal was entitled "Anywhere's Nowhere: Fictions of Autoethnography in the United Kingdom."

The $20,000 prize was established through a gift from James A. Levitan, a 1945 MIT graduate in chemistry, MIT Corporation member and senior partner in the New York law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher and Flom. First awarded in 1990, the prize supports innovative and creative scholarship in the humanities.


Stephen Ansolabehere
Donna Coveney

Stephen Ansolabehere awarded Carnegie Fellowship

Professor of Political Science Stephen Daniel Ansolabehere was awarded a Carnegie Corporation Fellowship under Carnegie's new program supporting fundamental research on social change. The $93,000 award was granted to Ansolabehere for work that will result in a book, The Rise of Money in American Politics. Ansolabehere was one of 12 recipients nationwide to be honored with the inaugural Fellowship.

Professor Ansolabehere joined the MIT faculty in 1993. Prior to arriving at the Institute, he taught at the University of California, Los Angeles from 1989 to 1993. His books include Going Negative: How Political Advertising Divides and Shrinks the American Electorate (1996) and The Media Game: American Politics in the Television Age (1993). Ansolabehere was selected a National Fellow by The Hoover Institution in 1993, received the 1996 Goldsmith Book Prize for Going Negative, and was awarded a Harry S. Truman Fellowship from 1982–86. He received his PhD in political science from Harvard University in 1989 and a BA in political science and BS in economics from the University of Minnesota in 1984.


Back to top

Copyright © 2000 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Soundings - home
Fall 2000