massachusetts institute of technology

MIT 1990-2004: The Vest Years
1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004

year 1992

First 6 MacVicar Faculty Fellows named, honoring the late Margaret MacVicar ’65, professor of physical science and Dean for Undergraduate Education who founded MIT’s Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP)


Campaign for the Future concludes with $710 million donated to MIT

Atlantis space shuttle launched, with payload specialist Byron Lichtenberg ’75 on crew

Atlantis space shuttle

David Brooks of Center for Cancer Research leads team to isolate gene responsible for muscular dystrophy

MIT tops peers in inventions reported, patents applied for and patents received

Magnet Lab sets new record for a sustained magnetic field

William Jefferson Clinton elected 42nd President of United States

Roller blades banned from Infinite Corridor, all buildings

roller blades banned