MIT Faculty Newsletter  
Vol. XXXI No. 3
January / February 2019
Saudi/MIT Policy:
Thoughtful Consideration,
Wrong Conclusions
Core Values
Letter to Associate Provost Richard Lester
Regarding MIT Engagements with Saudi Arabia
Response to Professor Lester’s Report
on MIT’s Involvement with Saudi Arabia
Candidates for Upcoming Election to
Faculty Newsletter Editorial Board
Ernst Frankel
The New MIT Homepage: Response by the MIT Office of Communications to the Article in the November/December FNL
Commemoration of March 4, 1969:
Scientists Strike For Peace
MacVicar Day 2019: “The Educated Student:
Thinking and Doing for the 21st Century”
A Plea for Integrity of the
Grievance Process at MIT
Committee on Curricula
Campus Research Expenditures
By Primary Sponsor FY2018
Printable Version

Committee on Curricula


The Committee on Curricula serves to implement the General Institute Requirements and Course Curricula for undergraduates, including acting with power on: a) proposals for changes in the Institute requirements and making recommendations to the Faculty; b) proposals for Science Distribution and Laboratory subjects; c) requests from individual students for exceptions to the General Institute Requirements; d) proposals for changes in undergraduate subjects of instruction; e) proposals for new curricula, changes in existing curricula, and the discontinuation of existing curricula; and f) reviewing departmental reports on individual student's programs that include major departures from an approved curriculum.

The Committee on Curricula consists of six elected Faculty members, four undergraduate student members, and the following ex officio, nonvoting members: the Vice Chancellor (or designee), the Registrar, one member designated by the Vice Chancellor, and the Chair of the Committee on the Undergraduate Program.

Prof. David A. Vogan (L), Chair (June 30, 2019)
Prof. Vivek F. Farias (June 30, 2021)
Sloan School of Management
Dr. Janelle K. Knox (June 30, 2020)
Urban Studies & Planning
Prof. Clapperton Chakanetsa Mavhunga (June 30, 2019)
Prog in Science, Technology, & Society
Prof. Donca Steriade (June 30, 2021)
Linguistics & Philosophy
Prof. Jesse Thaler (June 30, 2020)
Prof. Jacob K. White (June 30, 2019)
Electrical Engineering-Computer Science
Ms. Avital Baral, Student '20  (June 30, 2019)
Ms. Emma Bingham, Student '19 (June 30, 2019)
Ms. Sarah Curtis, Student '19 (June 30, 2019)
Prof. Duane S. Boning, Chair, CUP (June 30, 2019)
Electrical Engineering-Computer Science
Ms. Mary Rose Callahan, Registrar #
OVC Department Heads
Prof. Jeff Gore, Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor # (June 30, 2019)
Prof. James G. Paradis, Designated Representative, Vice Chancellor # (December 31, 2018)
Comparative Media Studies/Writing
Ms. Pam Walcott, Executive Officer #
Ms. Jennifer C. Donath, Staff to Committee
Ms. Martha Janus, Staff to Committee

NOTE: Date in parentheses indicates term expiration

* Ex Officio Voting
# Ex Officio Non-Voting
^ Non-MIT Member 7/20/2018
L On Leave

For a complete list of Faculty and Institute Committees and Councils see the MIT Faculty Governance website.

Upcoming Faculty Meetings: March 20, April 17, May 15. 3:30-5:00 pm. Room 10-250.

Back to top
Send your comments