Skip to content
MIT Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics

AeroAstro enews back issues 2008

2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011

November 2008: Welcome to Melanie Carr, Luca Bertuccelli, Han-LimChoi and Christoph; good bye to Peggy Edwards; Prof. Lozano wins USAF Grant, MIT Student team wins Pacific International Space Center for Exploration Systems design competition, Julie Shaw receives best paper prize at ICAPS, 3 students win AIAA undergraduate scholarhips; Wired magazine features Stephen Steiner; Prof. Willcox to co-direct new Center for Computational Engineering; Prof. Leveson will be subject in chapter in upcoming book; Prof. Hoffman teaching astronaut course; four MIT alums on ISS.

September 2008: Professors Spakovsky and Hastings win best paper awards, Prof. How patent receives award, Prof. Leveson to present MITSUI lecture in Japan, Prof. Radovitzky to be Invited Professor Ad Honorem at University of Buenos Aires, Dan Kwon and Ioannis Simaiakis recognized; Welcome to new MLK Professor, Leo Daniel; Waitz testifies on NextGen Air Transportation System; de Weck named ESD Associate Director; SpaceGrant and NASA Future Forum; Video contest seeks entries; AA video, Seamans and Armstrong on Space Race.

June 2008: Four receive department annual awards, Barbara Lechner, Julie Finn, Jean Sofronas and Mark Drela; Spakovszky name GTL Director; Moe Win, Nicholas Roy and Olivier de Weck receive best paper awards; two alums nominated as astronauts; RASC-AL team cited for lunar living concept; MIT Acronym site revised as a WIKI.

May 2008: Professors de Weck, Radovitzky, Spakovszky and Willcox received tenure; Many awarded at the AeroAstro Senior Dinner; AIAA presented graduate awards to Jessica Edmonds, Martin Ouimet and Caroline Lamb; Prof. Hall appointed Simmons Hall Housemaster; Prof. Brian Williams elected AIAA Fellow; Namiko Yamamoto received Jefferson Goblet award from AIAA; students particpated in show, "Untitled Mars (this title may change)"; Prof. Dava Newman's biosuit featured in MOMA Superhero Show; Eleanor Lin and Eric voted in to The Xi Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa; Daedalus reunion photo on the web; and Dick Perdichizzi invites all to 16.622 project pizza fete.

April 2008: Radovitzky named Associate Director of ISN; Widnall to receive three honorary degrees; Brunelle-Yeung and Sequeira win PARTNER paper competition; AeroAstro ties for first in US-Asian Vehicle competition; Cummings promoted; P. Young to direct MDA Space Knowledge Center; Ramnath to deliver plenary lecture; program celebrates Daedalus at 20; ACL featured in two magazine articles.

February 2008: Honors and Recognition, Prof. Hamsa Balakrishnan receives NSF CAREER award, Prof. Nancy Leveson on of this year's Federal 100; Comings and Goings, Kim Blair new vice-president at Xenith LLC; Nano-engineered composites research featured in BBC documentary; PARTNER Alt. fuels project focus of Globe Business section; X Prize comes to MIT; AA students spend month on "Mars"; Space Systems lab works with alum astronaut during ISS project; LAI "Metrics for Enterprise Transformations" workshop.



Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 77 Massachusetts  Avenue, 33 - 207, Cambridge, MA 02139

Contact|Site Map|Home