Massachusetts Institute of Technology Spectroscopy Home   search

Alumni and Associates

Spectroscopy Labortory alumni and associates have gone on to distinguished careers.  Below are some of our alumni and associates.  We welcome others to send us photos and be added to the list.


Kyungwon An
George Angheloiu
Vadim Backman
Kamran Badizadegan
Andrew Berger
Hans-Heinrich Carstensen
Wonshik Choi
Maryann Fitzmaurice
Irene Georgakoudi
Abigail Haka
Martin Hunter
Joseph Izatt

Carter Kittrell
Katrin Kneipp
Tae-Woong Koo
John Kramer
Marta Dark McNeese
Jason Motz
Markus Mueller
Daniel Murnick
Gabriel Popescu
Manoharan Ramasamy
Rebecca Richards-Kortum
Wei Chuan Shih

Gregory Shimkaveg
Luis Spinelli
Jeffrey Steinfeld
James Taylor
Gordon Thomas
John Thomas
James Tunnell
Adam Wax
Stephen Wilk
Changhuei Yang
George Zonios




Kyungwon An

Seoul National University
Associate Professor of School of Physics and Astronomy
Shillim-dong San 56-1, Kwanak-gu, Seoul 151-747, Korea
Phone: +82-2-880-8286
Email: kwan@phya.snu.ac.kr


George Angheloiu

Cardiology, Dubois Regional Hospital
Dubois, PA 15801

Email: angheloiu@pol.net
*2000-2004 Postdoc at SpecLab


Vadim Backman

Northwestern University
Professor of Biomeidcal Engineering Department

Phone: (847) 491-3536
Email: v-backman@northwestern.edu


Kamran Badizadegan

Harvard Medical School
Associate Professor of Pathology and Health Sciences and Technology

Massachusetts General Hospital
Head of Pediatric Pathology and Attending in Gastrointestinal Pathology
55 Fruit Street WRN034
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 726-6710
Email: kbadizadegan@partners.org
* LBRC Core Researcher


Andrew Berger

University of Rochester
Associate Professor of Optics
Wilmot 41B
Phone: (585) 273-4724
Email: ajberger@optics.rochester.edu


Hans-Heinrich Carstensen

Colorado School of Mines
Research Associate Professor of Department of Chemical Engineering
AH 343, Golden, CO 80401
Phone: (303) 273-3725
Email: hcarsten@mines.edu
*1999-2000 Postdoctoral associate in Prof. Green's group


Wonshik Choi

Wonshik Choi

Korea University
Assistant Professor of Physics
Director, Bioimaging Laboratory
#405 Asan Science building
5Ga, Anam-dong, Sungbuk-gu, Seoul 136-713, Korea
Phone: +82-2-3290-3118
Email: wonshik@korea.ac.kr
*2006-2009 Postdoctoral Associate at Spec Lab


Maryann Fitzmaurice

Case Western Reserve University
Associate Professor of Department of Pathology
Andrews Building Room 124A, 10900 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106
Phone: (216) 844-5228
Email: maryann.fitzmaurice@case.edu
* LBRC Core Researcher


Irene Georgakoudi

Tufts University
Assistant Professor of Department of Biomedical Engineering
Science and Technology Center – Room 245
Phone: (617) 627-4353
Email: irene.georgakoudi@tufts.edu


Abigail Haka

Weill Cornell Medical College
Postdoctoral Associate of Department of Biochemistry
E-209, New York, NY 10002
Phone: (212) 746-6199
Email: abh2005@med.cornell.edu


Martin Hunter

Tufts University
Lab Coordinator
Department of Biomedical Engineering, Science & Technology
4 Colby Street, Room 229, Medford, MA 02155
Phone: (617) 627-4604
Email: Martin.Hunter@tufts.edu


Joseph Izatt

Duke University
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
2573 CIEMAS
Phone: (919) 660-5128
Email: jizatt@duke.edu
*1986-1991Graduate student (the Lester Wolfe Graduate Fellow) at SpecLab


Carter Kittrell

Rice University
Research Scientist of Department of Chemistry, Kinsey Research MS600
309 Space Science & Tech. Bldg.
Phone: (713) 348-5108
Email: kittrell@rice.edu


Kneipp

Katrin Kneipp

Wellman Center for Photomedicine
Associate Professor of Massachusetts General Hospital
Wellman Center, MGH, 40 Blossom St., BAR 314, Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 724-2095
Email: Kneipp@usa.net


Tae-Woong Koo

Intel Corporation
Manager of Medical Regulatory Affairs
2200 Mission College Blvd. M/S SC4-203, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Email: tae-woong.t.koo@intel.com
*1996-2001Graduate student at SpecLab


Kramer

John Kramer

Retired cardiologist from the
Department of Cardiovascular Medicine
at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Email: jrkramer@roadrunner.com
* LBRC Core Researcher


Marta Dark McNeese

Spelman College
Associate Professor of Department of Physics
350 Spelman Lane SW, Box 276, Atlanta, GA 30314
Phone: (404) 270-5851
Email: mldark@spelman.edu
*1993-99 Graduate student at SpecLab


Jason Motz

Massachusetts General Hospital
Wellman Center for Photomedicine
Instructor ( -2009)


Markus Mueller

Hoffmann Eitle
Patent Attorney
Arabellastrasse 4, 81904 Munich, Germany
Phone: ++49 89 924 090
Email: mmueller@alum.mit.edu
*1999-2002 Visiting Scientist


Daniel Murnick

Rutgers-Newark University
Professor of Department of Physics
Smith Hall, - Room 366
Phone: (973) 353-5446
Email: murnick@newark.rutgers.edu


Gabriel Popescu

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Bioengineering
405 North Mathews Avenue, Room 4055, Urbana, IL 61801
Phone: (217) 333-4840
Email: gpopescu@ad.uiuc.edu
*2002-07 Postdoctoral associate at SpecLab


Manoharan (Mano) Ramasamy

Merck & Co, Inc.
Principal Scientist, Global Pharmaceutical Commercialization
770 Sumneytown Pike, WP78-110, West Point, PA-19486
Phone: (215) 652-5465
Email: ramasamy_manoharan@merck.com


Rebecca Richards-Kortum

Rice University
Stanley C. Moore Professor of Bioengineering
Howard Keck Hall, - Room 116
Phone: (713) 348-5869
Email: rkortum@rice.edu


Wei-Chuan Shih

University of Houston
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Phone: 713-743-4400
Email: wshih@alum.mit.edu


Gregory Shimkaveg

University of Central Florida
CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics
Research Scientist
Phone: (407) 823-6988
Email: gshimkav@creol.ucf.edu


Luis Spinelli

Coherent Inc.
Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer
5100 Patrick Henry Drive, Santa Clara, CA 95054
Phone: (408) 764-4000
Email: Luis.Spinelli@coherent.com


Jeffrey Steinfeld

Retired Professor from Department of Chemistry at MIT
Email: jisteinf@MIT.EDU


James Taylor

Monsanto Company
Senior Research Engineer
800 North Lindbergh Blvd, Mailstop: T4F, St. Louis, MO 63167
Phone: (314) 837-2383
Email: jameswtaylor@gmail.com
*2002-05 Graduate student at SpecLab (in Prof. Green's group)


Gordon Thomas

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Distinguished Research Professor of Physics and Biomedical Engineering
Tiernan Hall Room 482; Lab: Room B
Phone: (973) 596-3558
Email: gordon.a.thomas@njit.edu


John Thomas

Duke University
Fritz London Professor of Physics
Phone: (919) 660-2508
Email: jet@phy.duke.edu


James Tunnell

University of Texas at Austin
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Phone: (512) 232-2110
Email: jtunnell@mail.utexas.edu


Adam Wax

Duke University
Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Phone: (919) 660-5143
Email: a.wax@duke.edu


Stephen Wilk

Science Research Laboratory of Somerville Mass (SRL)
Optical Engineer
15 Ward St., Somerville
Email: swilk@comcast.net



Changhuei Yang

California Institute of Technology
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering & BioEngineering
MC 136-93, 13 Moore
Phone: (626) 395-8922
Email: chyang@caltech.edu


George Zonios

University of Ioannina
Assistant Professor of Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Ioannian, Greece
Phone: +30-26510-97228
Email: gzonios@cc.uoi.gr
*1993-1998 Graduate student (research assistant) at SpecLab