News and Events















10 New School of Science Professors
School of Science Welcomes 10 Professors
New faculty join the departments of Biology, Brain and Cognitive Sciences, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, and Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences.
September 19, 2018
Image courtesy of the School of Science














Understanding the Proton's Weak Side
Research from the Qweak experiment provides a precision measurement of the proton’s weak charge. narrows the search for new physics.
May 10, 2018
Photo courtesy of
Laboratory for Nuclear Science


Or Hen
Or Hen Receives 2018 Guido Altarelli Award
Assistant professor of physics and Laboratory for Nuclear Science researcher recognized for major contributions to high energy and nuclear physics.
April 18, 2018
Photo courtesy of Or Hen






CTP 4th Floor
CTP Featured in MIT Spotlight Video: Scaffolding of the Universe - Watch the YouTube Video
In the Center for Theoretical Physics at MIT, researchers develop ideas for describing the fundamental physical laws governing our universe...
January 3, 2018





Talia Weiss
Bridging the Science-Policy Divide
For MIT senior Talia Weiss, physics and theater have provided a springboard for new interests in political science.
October 17, 2017
Photo: Ian MacLellan




Markus Klute
Particle Hunter (Markus Klute)
Now that the Higgs boson has come to light, Markus Klute is looking at physics beyond the Standard Model.
July 21, 2017
Photo: M. Scott Brauer



Tracy Slatyer
Tracy Slatyer Wins Future of Science Award
Tracy Slatyer, the Jerrold R. Zacharias Career Development Assistant Professor of Physics, has been named the first recipient of the School of Science’s Future of Science Award.
May 18, 2017
Photo courtesy of the
Department of Physics


Tracy Slatyer
Proton Structure Comes to Light (OLYMPUS)
The OLYMPUS collaboration has found evidence of two-photon exchange, a process that could reconcile discrepant measurements of the proton’s inner construction.
March 20, 2017
Photo: Christine Daniloff/MIT