NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Subscribe Facebook YouTube Google+

FAQ | Contact | Jobs | NSE Policies

2013 David J. Rose Lectureship in Nuclear Technology

Advice for nations pursuing nuclear power:
Lady Barbara Judge delivers 12th Rose Lecture

Barbara Judge

David J. Rose Lectureship in Nuclear Technology

This distinguished lectureship honors the memory of David J. Rose (1922-1985), a renowned professor of nuclear engineering at MIT. The lectureship was established in December 1984 on the occasion of Professor Rose's retirement and in recognition of his work in fusion technology, energy, nuclear waste disposal, and his concern with ethical problems arising from advances in science and technology.

Professor Rose received his B.A.Sc. degree in engineering physics from the University of British Columbia in 1947 and his Ph.D. degree in Physics from MIT in 1950. When the Department of Nuclear Engineering at MIT was formed in 1958, David Rose was invited to join the faculty. He went on to lead the development of the Department’s program in plasmas and controlled fusion, and remained a member of the MIT faculty for the rest of his professional career.

Professor Rose's professional life encompassed three distinguished careers: scientist and engineer; technology/policy analyst; and bridge builder between the scientific and theological communities. He authored over 150 articles ranging from high technology to theology, and with Melville Clark wrote Plasmas and Controlled Fusion, which became the standard textbook in the field of fusion energy. Professor Rose's book, Learning About Energy, which drew on two decades of research and teaching on energy technology and policy, was published posthumously. Before joining the MIT faculty, Professor Rose was a member of the technical staff at Bell Labs. While on leave from MIT in the early 1970s he served as the first Director of the Office of Long Range Planning at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. He was honored as a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a Fellow of the American Academy for the Advancement of Science. In 1975 Professor Rose received the Arthur Holly Compton Award of the American Nuclear Society for excellence in teaching, and at MIT he was the recipient of the James R. Killian Faculty Achievement Award in 1979-80. In 1986, the Board of Directors of Fusion Power Associates established a prize to be presented annually for excellence in fusion engineering in honor of Professor Rose.

Barbara Judge

Lady Judge, a trained commercial lawyer with both British and American citizenship, has an unusually broad and successful international career as a senior executive, chairman and non-executive director in both the private and public sectors.

She received a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and Juris Doctor with honours from New York University Law School and was a partner in a major US law firm specialising in corporate and financial transactions.

In 1980 she was appointed by the President as a Commissioner of the US Securities and Exchange Commission. Thereafter she was appointed as the first woman executive director of both Samuel Montagu and subsequently News International, among others.

She was appointed a Director of the United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority in 2002 and became its Chairman in 2004 and was reappointed in 2007. In 2010, upon completion of her two terms, she was appointed Chairman of the UK Pension Protection Fund. In addition she is a member of the UK Nuclear Development Forum and Chairman of The Energy Institute of University College London. She is a member of the Steering Committee of the Istanbul International Energy & Climate Center at Sabanci University.

In November 2010 Lady Judge was appointed by the Prime Minister as a Business Ambassador for the UK.

She is also Chairman of the International Advisory Board of SOAS and its London Middle East Institute. In addition she was the first woman member of the Board of Overseers of the Wharton School of Management and is currently a member of its Executive Board for Europe, Middle East and Africa and a member of the International Advisory Board of Sabanci University.

Lady Judge is also Deputy Chairman of the Tepco Nuclear Reform Committee and a member of the UAE Advisory Board for the Development of Peaceful Nuclear Energy and a Visiting Fellow at Oxford University, Centre for Corporate Reputation.

In June 2010 she was awarded Commander of the British Empire in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for services to the nuclear and financial services industries.

Past David J. Rose Lecturers:

John Holdren, 2010
Assistant to the President for Science and Technology

Susan Eisenhower, 2008
President of the Eisenhower Group, Inc

Mohamed El Baradei, 2005
Director General, International Atomic Energy Agency
2005 Nobel Peace Prize Recipient

Richard A. Meserve, 2004
President of Carnegie Institution

Evgeny P. Velikhov, 2000
President of Kurchatov Institute

Pete V. Domenici, 1998
Senator of New Mexico
Chairman of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on
Energy and Water Development

Albert Carnesale, 1996
Provost of Harvard University

Wolfe Häfele, 1994
Director of the Research Center
Rossendorf/Dresden, Germany

D. Allan Bromley, 1992
Science Advisor to the President

Hans Blix, 1989
Secretary General of the IAEA

Department of Nuclear Science & Engineering

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue, 24-107, Cambridge, MA 02139

Copyright © 2015 Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering