NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT


Recent News

nuclear warhead verification, MIT

For nuclear weapons reduction, a way to verify without revealing

New isotope-detection method could prove compliance but avoid divulging secrets.

Self healing metal oxides graphic, MIT

Self-healing metal oxides could protect against corrosion

Researchers find an ultrathin layer of aluminum oxide, though solid, can flow like a liquid instead of cracking.

Walsh, Ajoy

2016 + 2017 Del Favero Prize Lecture

On April 17, the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering will host the Del Favero Prize Lecture. This year we celebrate awards to the 2016 and 2017 winners

2018 NSE Expo, MIT

2018 NSE Graduate Research Expo

In addition to showcasing groundbreaking research from NSE’s various labs, the Expo also provides an opportunity for prospective students to learn about what projects they may be able to work on if they choose to come to MIT in the fall.

Martin Greenwald, Dan Brunner, Zach Hartwig, Brandon Sorbom, Bob Mumgaard, Dennis Whyte, MIT

MIT and newly formed company launch new approach to fusion power

Goal is for research to produce a working pilot plant within 15 years.

Zach Hartwig, MIT

3 Questions: NSE’s Zach Hartwig on MIT’s big push on fusion

Researchers will work with industrial collaborators to pursue fusion as a source of carbon-free power.

NSE Expo Poster

2018 NSE Research Expo

On March 16, the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering will host its annual Graduate Research Expo —a unique opportunity for the MIT community to learn more about the diverse research being conducted within NSE by faculty and graduate students.

NMR Spectrometer, MIT

QEG develops unprecedented visibility into quantum information transfer

Advance holds promise for “wiring” of quantum computers and other systems, and opens new avenues for understanding basic workings of the quantum realm.

R. Scott Kemp, MIT

How to detect clandestine nuclear weapons programs

NSE’s R. Scott Kemp explores practical ways to sniff out uranium processing from afar.

Pablo Rodriguez Fernandez, MIT

Integrated simulations answer 20-year-old question in fusion research

MIT study finds that turbulence competes in fusion plasmas to rapidly respond to temperature perturbations.

Nuclear Systems Design : Pitch Presentations

Topics in the Design Class Pitch Presentations demonstrated the broad application of nuclear science and engineering in finding solutions to real world problems.

Turning heat into electricity

NSE’s Mingda Li and colleagues find topological materials could boost the efficiency of thermoelectric devices.

Mark Reed

Predicting distortions

With his computational breakthrough, nuclear engineer Mark Reed characterizes the weird warping of geometries inside a reactor core.

Department of Nuclear Science & Engineering

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue, 24-107
Cambridge, MA 02139