NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT


Bilge Yildiz elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences

three people standing in a row, tall male on left, female holding certificate in the middle, medium height male on left

Professor Bilge Yildiz was elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences at a ceremony in Vienna, Austria on May 11, 2023

Bilge Yildiz, Breene M. Kerr (1951) Professor in the Departments of Nuclear Science and Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, has been elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW). Yildiz is now one of 143 Corresponding Members Abroad in the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the OeAW.

Founded in 1847 as a learned society, the OeAW’s mission is to “promote science in every way”.  With over 770 members from around the world the OeAW is the largest non-university research and science institution in Austria. It  is “dedicated to innovative basic research, interdisciplinary exchange of knowledge and the dissemination of new insights with the aim of contributing to progress in science and society as a whole”. 

Members are elected once a year based on academic achievement and academic reputation in either the Division of Humanities and the Social Sciences or the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences. 

May 2023

Department of Nuclear Science & Engineering

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue, 24-107 (map)
Cambridge, MA 02139