NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT



2023 NSE + ANS Annual Awards

The Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering and the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society hosted their annual awards event on May 18, 2023.

NSE’s Professor Bilge Yildiz elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences

Bilge Yildiz, Breene M. Kerr (1951) Professor in the Departments of Nuclear Science and Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, has been elected to the Austrian Academy of Sciences (OeAW). Yildiz is one now of 143 Corresponding Members Abroad in the Division of Mathematics and the Natural Sciences of the OeAW.

NSE’s Rachel Bielajew honored as one of 40 Graduate Women of Excellence at MIT in 2023

The Office of Graduate Education at MIT honored 40 graduate women whose home departments represent each of MIT’s five schools at a reception on May 8, 2023. These impactful women were chosen for their leadership among their peers, their dedication to improving the MIT graduate student experience, their thoughtful and constructive feedback, and their ability to catalyze change. Each honoree prepared a poster detailing their path to MIT, presented to share their experiences at the event. Watch video

NSE teams win three awards at 2023 ICAPP

Presentations are Emile Germonpré, Emile Gateau, and Faris Fakhry from the NSE Microreactor Group won three Best Paper Awards at the 2023 International Congress on Advances in Nuclear Power Plantsheld in South Korea in April.

NSE graduate student Gavin Ridley wins Ely M. Gelbard Graduate Scholarship

The Ely M. Gelbard Graduate Scholarship was established by the American Nuclear Society Mathematics and Computation Division in June 2015, is given annually to graduate students whose study focuses on the development of mathematical and/or computational methods for nuclear applications.

NSE’s Professor Koroush Shirvan wins 2023 ANS Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award

The Landis Young Member Engineering Achievement Award recognizes young individual members (early career professionals or students) for outstanding achievement in which engineering knowledge has been effectively applied to yield an engineering concept, design, safety improvement, method of analysis or product utilized in nuclear power research and development or commercial application

Mingda Li honored with Junior Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

Award is given each year by the School of Engineering to an outstanding educator up for promotion to associate professor without tenure.

Bilge Yildiz wins Rahmi M. Koç Medal of Science

Award recognizes scientists of Turkish origin younger than 50 who have made outstanding contributions to their fields.

Richard Lanza elected as IEEE Fellow

Senior Research Scientist, Richard Lanza, was elected an IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Fellow &Mdash; an honor annually bestowed on just one-tenth of one percent of the members of what’s called “the world’s largest technical professional organization.”

NSE alumna Mareena Robinson Snowden was named to the EBONY’s Power 100

Mareen Robinson Snowden PhD ’17 was recognized this year as one of EBONY Magazine’s Power 100 STEM Trailblazers who recognized for their discoveries and use of their passion for STEM to advance the field of technology, space, health, and education. “Being in the room last night, listening to the stories, and absorbing the energy was deeply refreshing. I take that energy back with me into my work, with the affirmation that the community is behind us,” refelcted Robonson Snowden of the awards celebration.

NSE’s Nuno Loureiro elected as fellow of the American Physical Society

One of six from MIT elected this year, Prof Nuno Loureiro is recognized for “transformative contributions to the theory of magnetic reconnection and for elucidating the fundamental role of hierarchical reconnection phenomena in plasma turbulence, with broad applications in laboratory, space, and astrophysical systems.”

NSE’s Ian Hutchinson wins 2022 Ronald C. Davidson Award for Plasma Physics

AIP Publishing has selected Prof Ian Hutchinson as the recipient of its 2022 Ronald C. Davidson Award for Plasma Physics for his paper, “Electron holes in phase space: What they are and why they matter.”

NSE’s Koroush Shirvan wins 2022 Reactor Technology Award

ohn Clark Hardwick (1986) Career Development Professor, Koroush Shirvan has won the 2022 Reactor Technology Award from the American Nuclear Society, which recognizes practical contributions to the field of reactor design.

NSE’s Zach Hartwig wins 2022 FPA Excellence in Fusion Engineering Award

Robert N. Noyce Career Development Professor, Zach Hartwig has been selected by the Fusion Power Associates (FPA) Board of Directors as the recipient of a 2022 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Award.

School of Engineering Awards for 2022

NSE’s Mike Short, Nuno Loureiro, Charlotte Wickert, and Sreya Vangara are amongst those honored with MIT School of Engineering awards in 2022.

Michael Short wins 2022 MIT Bose Award for Excellence in Teaching

The School of Engineering honors the associate professor of nuclear science and engineering for his experiential approach to teaching.

Department of Nuclear Science & Engineering

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue, 24-107 (map)
Cambridge, MA 02139