NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT


NSE’s Yildiz and team win 2018 Purdy award

Bilge Yildiz, MIT

Professor Bilge Yildiz receives the Ross Coffin Purdy award for 2018

NSE Professor Bilge Yildiz and her research team have won the Ross Coffin Purdy award for 2018 for their paper, “Improved chemical and electrochemical stability of perovskite oxides with less reducible cations at the surface”.

The MIT team developed a practical and physically-based way of treating the surface of materials called perovskite oxides, to make them more durable and improve their performance. These materials are promising candidates to serve as electrodes in energy-conversion devices such as fuel cells and electrolyzers. This surface treatment could solve one of the major challenges that has hindered widespread deployment of fuel cell technology that, when operated reversibly, can present a promising alternative to batteries for renewable-energy storage.

The findings were reported in the journal Nature Materials in 2016 in a paper by MIT Professor Bilge Yildiz of the departments of Nuclear Science and Engineering and Materials Science and Engineering, former MIT postdoc Nikolai Tsvetkov, graduate students Qiyang Lu and Lixin Sun, and Ethan Crumlin of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

The Purdy award is given by The American Ceramic Society to the author or authors who, in the judgment of the committee, made the most valuable contribution to ceramic technical literature published two years prior to the selection year. The 2018 Purdy award will be given to the author(s) of a paper published in 2016.


Researchers find a way to extend life and improve performance of fuel cell electrodes
American Ceremics Society
Laboratory for Electrochemical Interfaces

November 2018