NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT


Nuclear Science and Engineering Annual Awards 2011

The following awards were announced at the Awards Dinner hosted by the Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering and the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society on May 6, 2011.

Award winners 2011

photo caption

Photos from left to right:
TOP ROW Left: Richard Lester, Rosemary Sugrue. Middle: Matthew Reinke. Right: Lauren Ayers, Richard Lester.
MIDDLE ROW Left: Stefano Passerini, Jacob DeWitte, Bryan Herman. Right: Peter Brenton, Jacob DeWitte, Bryan Herman.
BOTTOM ROW Left: Derek Sutherland, Richard Lester. Middle left: Matthew Davidson, Richard Lester. Middle right: Jake Dobisesky. Right: Bryan Herman, Richard Lester, Jacob DeWitte.
Photos by Despoina Chatzikyriakou

Matthew Reinke G

Manson Benedict Award presented to a graduate student for excellence in academic performance and professional promise in Nuclear Science & Engineering.

Vladimir Sobes G

Roy Axford Award for academic achievement by a senior in Nuclear Science & Engineering.

Lauren Ayers ’12
Derek Sutherland  ’12

Irving Kaplan Award for academic achievement by a junior in Nuclear Science & Engineering.

Rosemary Sugrue ’11
Ethan Peterson ’13

Outstanding UROP Award for exceptional contributions to research in Nuclear Science & Engineering.

Matthew Davidson G

Outstanding TA Award for exceptional contributions as a teaching assistant in Nuclear Science & Engineering.

Jacob Dobisesky G for service to CASPAR community
Jacob DeWitte G and Bryan Herman G ANS co-presidents

Outstanding Student Service Award in recognition of exceptional services to the students, the department and the entire MIT community.

Students of the MIT NSE Nuclear Information Hub

The Reinhold Rudenberg Memorial Prize for significant contributions to the advancement of energy conversion.
Meet the award winners

Claire Martin-Doyle
MIT lightweight women's crew coach

Certificate of Appreciation.

NSE women's crew with Claire Martin-Doyle

photo caption

Photo from left to right:
Sara Ferry, Lauren Ayers, Elizabeth Wei, Claire Martin-Doyle.
Photo by Despoina Chatzikyriakou

Prof. Jacopo Buongiorno

Ruth and Joel Spira Award for Distinguished Teaching.
This award is made possible by a gift from Ruth and Joel S. Spira to acknowledge the tradition of high quality engineering education at MIT.

Neil Todreas

Outstanding Faculty Award, presented by the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society.

Peter Brenton

Outstanding Staff Award, presented by the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society.

Stefano Passerini G

Outstanding Grader of the Year Award, presented by the student chapter of the American Nuclear Society.