NSE - Nuclear Science & Engineering at MIT


NSE’s Forsberg awarded Seaborg Medal by American Nuclear Society

Charles W. Forsberg

NSE’s Dr. Charles W. Forsberg has been awarded the prestigious Seaborg Medal by the American Nuclear Society (ANS). Dr. Forsberg is honored for his work advancing innovative nuclear fuel cycle concepts, high temperature reactors and applications for sustainable hybrid energy systems.

“Dr. Forsberg’s contributions to expanding the technical foundations of nuclear technology have advanced the role of nuclear energy in our society,” said Dr. Michaele (Mikey) Brady Raap, ANS president. “His work has been instrumental in furthering the peaceful use of nuclear energy around the globe. We are proud to honor him as the 2014 recipient of this medal.”

Dr. Forsberg currently leads the Fluoride-salt-cooled High-temperature Reactor project at MIT. His work has included research on passively safe light-water reactors, salt-cooled high-temperature reactors, alternative fuel cycles, design options for repositories, uranium enrichment and nuclear-renewable energy futures. Before joining MIT, he was a Corporate Fellow at Oak Ridge National Laboratory where he managed the salt-cooled reactor program. Dr. Forsberg received a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from the University of Minnesota, and both a master’s and doctorate in nuclear engineering from MIT.

Established in 1983, the Seaborg Award is named after its first winner, Glenn T. Seaborg. His discovery and investigation of ten transuranium elements earned him the 1951 Nobel Prize in chemistry. Dr. Seaborg was a pioneer in plutonium research, nuclear medicine and the peaceful use of nuclear energy. In his memory, this award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding scientific or engineering research contributions to the development of peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

Dr. Forsberg will receive his award on Nov. 10 in Anaheim, Calif.